Day 1

Starting Measurements

Weight – 11st 11lb

Thigh – 24″

Waist – 33″

Chest – 38″

Upper arm – 12″

Neck – 13″

My height is 5’1″.

As you can see, I have also attached my starting photos. I think that the combination of taking starting measurements and photos is really important to keep motivation high – if I’m struggling on any particular day, all I need to do is look at these and think “this is why you’re doing it, because you’re not happy”.

Today was my first fasting day (I have decided to go for every Monday and Wednesday). I knew it would be difficult as I have done it before but I have tried to do it slightly differently this time to see if it makes it easier to sustain. In the past I have normally split my calorie allowance (around 500 for women) between small meals and snacks throughout the day. However, having read the book mentioned in my first post, the science shows that you get more benefits from a longer fasting period (and a lot of people state that they find it easier to have one or two larger meals, than many small ones). So I have decided to have breakfast (at around 7:00am), nothing all day, and then an evening meal (at around 6-7:00pm). My breakfast will consist of blueberries, peach pieces and low fat natural yoghurt. My evening meal will be chicken breast, sweet potato, broccoli and green beans. All the food has to be weighed before I eat it which is a bit of a pain but really important as it ensures I am keeping within my calorie allowance for the day. I have decided to eat the same meals on both my fasting days as I’m not keen on cooking so want to make sure it is as simple as possible. I will also make sure I am drinking plenty of water to help me feel fuller.

I didn’t feel particularly hungry until lunchtime (about 1pm) and that’s when I began to notice that my body was telling me it was time to eat! I made sure to drink plenty of water and I also had a cup of green tea which seemed to help slightly. By the time I got home at 5:15pm I was pretty starving! It wasn’t completely unbearable – I managed not to eat the Creme Egg sat in the cupboard(!) – but there’s no getting away from the fact that this diet does make you hungry, particularly during the first week or two until your body gets used to it.

I am trying to remind myself that, although my stomach feels like it’s eating itself, it is doing me good deep down – I only need to refer to “The Fast Diet” book for clear scientific proof of that.

I decided not to exercise today as I wasn’t sure I would be feeling up to it on so few calories. However, I did manage a short walk at lunchtime (mostly to avoid sitting in a staff room surrounded by people eating!) which I was pleased about as this is not something I normally do. I will try to incorporate it into my fasting days when I don’t feel up to strenuous exercise.

I am really looking forward to being able to eat normally tomorrow – this diet does make you appreciate food a lot more! But that’s also what appeals to me about the 5:2 diet – I only have to restrict myself for two non-consecutive days a week and for the other five, I can eat normally. I’m hoping that will make it a lot more sustainable than other diets where you have to restrict yourself for six to seven days of the week. Yes, I want to lose weight and become healthier but I also want to live and enjoy living! x

Leave a Reply

