Day 2

It was lovely being able to eat normally today! I didn’t go mad because this diet does make you think about what and how much you are eating. But it felt great to eat without having to weigh things out or worrying that I was over my calorie allowance. And I really appreciated everything I ate – you definitely notice how food tastes more when you’ve been restricting yourself!

What hasn’t been so lovely today is the fact that I failed to do any exercise. I was planning to go to the gym after work but it didn’t happen. Unfortunately I suffer from IBS (Irritable Bowel Syndrome) and it flared up this afternoon for some reason. This meant I felt really bloated and uncomfortable and it’s actually quite draining as well. It’s really hard for me to motivate myself to do any exercise when I feel like this as I just want to curl up in a ball. So I ended up just going home, eating tea and watching TV. I still didn’t feel the need to eat anything particularly indulgent (mostly due to the IBS making me not feel like eating much) but I did treat myself to a chocolate cookie which was left over from the weekend. That’s one of the great things about this diet – I can still have a cookie or a piece of chocolate without feeling guilty because I know I restricted myself yesterday and I will do the same tomorrow.

I am hoping to feel better fasting tomorrow as I now know what to expect. And I am disappointed that I didn’t make it to the gym tonight but I know it’s because I wasn’t feeling well, not just because I couldn’t be bothered and I think that’s an important thing to remember. I’m not going to beat myself up about it – tomorrow is another day and hopefully I will be feeling well enough to do some exercise on Thursday. x

Leave a Reply

