Day 12

Weight – 11st 7lb

I’ve lost another 2lb this week. Which is great because I’ve struggled with sticking to the diet. I did manage to stay on track but I just kept telling myself “I better have lost some weight this week or I’m going to be pissed off…!” so it would have been pretty demotivating so have stayed the same or put on weight.

I still haven’t managed to make it to the gym and I’m actually thinking of cancelling my membership. I feel like I’m putting too much pressure on myself to go and, when I think about it, I don’t particularly like the gym I go to anyway so it’s really just a waste of money. I’d like to start doing some yoga because it’s not something I’ve ever tried before and think it could really help me with flexibility and also chilling out a bit! I haven’t decided yet whether I want to go to a class or do a DVD at home so I will have to explore my options. I also started running a few years ago and completed the 5K Race For Life which I really enjoyed. However, after completing the race I didn’t carry on with the running which I do regret now. So I’d like to get back into that if possible – I’ve even got a running watch gathering dust somewhere! So watch this space…

Even though I can eat normally on my non-fasting days, I still try to keep it simple and not eat too many calories. I did treat myself to a few biscuits on Wednesday evening but I feel I can allow myself this if I’m good the rest of the time. For breakfast this morning I just had a chocolate chia seed pudding (see below) with a banana and then some raspberries and blueberries mid-morning. I am hungry now (lunchtime) but I don’t feel like I need to eat something right now because I’m so used to being hungry and I know it’s not doing me any harm. So this diet really does seem to be changing my whole way of thinking about food and hunger. The one thing I do need to make sure I keep up when I’m not at work is drinking plenty of water because I know this is good for me whether I’m fasting or not. I find it much easier to drink more at work because I simply have a bottle of water on my desk which I refill as and when throughout the day. When I’m off work (weekends for example), I find it much harder to drink enough because I’m normally out and about or I just don’t think of it. So I am going to try and be more mindful of this.

Chocolate Chia Seed Pudding

So a friend gave me the basic instructions for this pudding and I have slightly adapted it to suit my tastes. I don’t have exact measurements as I never stick to a proper recipe when making it but I’ve listed the ingredients and method below.

  • 4-5 pitted dates (the more you use, the sweeter it will be)
  • A small amount (less than 1/4tsp) of vanilla powder *optional
  • Approximately 1 heaped tsp of raw cacao powder (adjust accordingly for personal preference)
  • Almond milk to the max line of the smaller Nutribullet cup
  • 4 tbsp of chia seeds
  1. Add all the ingredients apart from the chia seeds to the small Nutribullet cup
  2. Blend for a few minutes until smooth (you will probably still end up with some bits of date in the bottom but this doesn’t bother me, it simply adds a different texture!)
  3. Pour into a suitable sized cup/jar/bowl
  4. Stir in the chia seeds well
  5. Cover and place into the fridge to set (I normally make mine the night before if I’m having it for breakfast or in the morning if I’m having it later in the day as it will take a few hours to set)

I only recently started having this for breakfast but I’m glad I did because it’s lovely! I love the moussy texture the chia seeds create and the cacao powder gives it a rich, chocolatey flavour. All the ingredients are also really good for you so you can be safe in the knowledge that, although it’s chocolate, you’re giving your body some good nutrition for the day ahead! x

Leave a Reply

